Blog must have tags

Lost In Austen: Create Your Own Jane Austen Adventure Review

Happy Friday Everyone!!

I wanted to do a fun light read to finish of this week, and let me tell you the book I chose is a good one! Lost In Austen: Create Your Own Jane Austen Adventure by Emma Campbell Webster is what every fan of Jane Austen needs to pick up and read.

The book description was taken from the Goodreads website:

“Bringing together Jane Austen’s most beloved characters and storylines-a clever, playful, interactive, and highly entertaining approach to the wildly popular novels in which you, the reader, decide the outcome.

Name: Elizabeth Bennet.
Mission: To marry both prudently and for love.
How? It’s entirely up to the reader.

The journey begins in Pride and Prejudice but quickly takes off on a whimsical Austen adventure of the reader’s own creation. A series of choices leads the reader into the plots and romances of Austen’s other works. Choosing to walk home from Netherfield Hall means falling into Sense and Sensibility and the infatuating spell of Mr. Willoughby. Accepting an invitation to Bath leads to Northanger Abbey and the beguiling Henry Tilney. And just where will Emma’s Mr. Knightley fit in to the quest for a worthy husband? It’s all up to the reader.

A labyrinth of love and lies, scandals and scoundrels, misfortunes and marriages, Lost in Austen will delight and challenge any Austen lover.”

The reader gets to play as Elizabeth Bennet, and your choices in key points of the story will determine Elizabeth’s future. You are taken through all of Jane Austen’s stories, as long as you go down the certain paths. It is also like a game, because you get points for your choices that you make, and you can also get them taken away. You don’t have to keep your point count but the book is run to read while you keep score. I bet it is good without keeping points, but I haven’t tried that yet. Without giving anything away, I will tell you, I ended up dead, single forever, wed Mr. Darcy, and also got disfigured. That isn’t given anything away, because the great thing about this book is that the readers chooses how the story carries on, and what happens to Elizabeth. The choices are endless, and some paths will have you laughing out loud.

I loved this book, and loved that no matter how many times I read it, I got to chose another path each time, that lead me down another journey. This book is perfect for fans of Jane Austen, and you will want to read it again and again.

Go write Elizabeth Bennet’s story my dear friends!

Lost in Austen

5 thoughts on “Lost In Austen: Create Your Own Jane Austen Adventure Review”

  1. What a great idea! Especially given that Jane won’t be writing any more books I’m the near future. Sounds fun! 😀 And a little different.

    Like

      1. Have you seen the BBC mini series Lost in Austen? If you like Austen, this is really fun. Modern 20th century girl finds a link to the Bennett’s house through her bathroom, and swaps places with Jane. Is funny, sweet and wonderful. And it has the GROSSEST Mr Collins ever!! Well worth watching. Great actors, including Hugh Bonneville (Earl of Grantham from Downton Abbey).

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s