Blog must have tags

Scavenge The Stars Review

Happy Monday Readers!

I hope everyone had a great weekend, I know I had a busy one! I cleaned out my closet, took a dog to the vet, and took down Christmas decorations! I’ll admit I hate when I have to take down the Christmas Tree and lights, because they are so beautiful and relaxing! Any who today I have a review for you on a book that is a retelling of the Count of Monte Cristo, and was just released this month. The book is called Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim.

The book description comes from the Goodreads website:

“When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide.

Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.”

I will admit that I have never read The Count of Monte Cristo, so I honestly can’t speak to the retelling aspect. I will also admit that at first this book took me a while to get into, and I was confused at first, however this was an amazing action packed adventure. Tara creates a world where everything and everyone is not what they seem. Where revenge can either ruin your life or have a wonderful impact on it.

The story is told from the main characters own points of view, Amaya and Cayo. I love when authors tell a story from two points of view, because I feel like the reader gets more of an in depth story and you get to know the characters better. I fell in love with Amaya and Cayo. Amaya comes into her own and becomes a strong woman, while Cayo has to figure out who he truly wants to be. Tara has a gold mine on her hands with this duology, and I can’t wait for the second book to come out to see what happens to these amazing characters next!

Go on an adventure of revenge and deceit my dear readers!

Scavange the Stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s